• STOLEN, A LETTER TO MY CAPTOR

    First, I’ve decided to choose this book entitled ' Stolen, a letter to my captor' and written by Lucy Christopher because I was really impressed, I’ve never read a book like this before. It takes place in the Australian Outback.

    STOLEN, A LETTER TO MY CAPTOR

    When you read this story you become Gemma a sixteen-year-old girl who is kidnapped during her holidays by a young man named Ty. He steals her and takes her away from London to Australia.

    STOLEN, A LETTER TO MY CAPTOR

    However, Ty is an unusual captor : he’s like a model, he wants to save Gemma from the life in the city and he has spied her for 10 years ! But above all he loves her. At first, Gemma wants to escape, to die, she is desperate. Unfortunately, they are in the middle of the desert and no one lives for hundred miles around. She can’t escape. So, she gets used to it and to her captor. Ty has grown up in the desert, so he taught her a lot of things. The desert is like a character in the book, you can feel the Australian sun on your skin. Ty does a lot of mistakes but he isn’t really mean. He never tries to hurt Gemma. There is a strange relationship between them. The readers can’t hate Ty even if he does really bad things. It looks kike  Stockholm syndrome (= when hostages have positive feelings towards their captors).

    At the end, a venomous snake bites Gemma and she must go to hospital. Ty rides her to the nearest town on a camel. Gemma is almost dead, she says she wants Ty to stay with her. Finally, the police sends him to jail but Gemma doesn’t want to go back to London.
    The book is a letter written by Gemma to Ty.
    You can’t forget this book.

    STOLEN, A LETTER TO MY CAPTOR

    One quote : ‘Lets face it, you did steal me. But you saved my life too. And somewhere in the middle, you showed me a place so different and beautiful, I can never get it out of my mind. And I can't get you out of there either. You're stuck in my brain like my own blood vessels.’

    Here's the trailer of the book :

    Charlotte

    « ATHLETICSKANYE WEST POWAAAA! »

    Tags Tags: , , ,
  • Comments

    1
    Paulettelovesenglish Paulettelovesenglish profile
    Friday 27th January 2012 at 08:09

    @Charlotte : I haven't read it yet. Can you give three adjectives to qualify this book?

    2
    Marion Mélanie
    Tuesday 31st January 2012 at 18:43

    Nice job ! Glad to read it !

    3
    Aure -
    Wednesday 8th February 2012 at 15:22

    Thank you for this article ! I look forward reading this book 

    4
    Charloottee
    Wednesday 8th February 2012 at 15:37

    I think this book is unsusual, striking and thought-provoking ! 

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: